GATESHEAD METROPOLITAN BOROUGH COUNCIL

COUNCIL MEETING

17 May 2019

PRESENT: THE MAYOR COUNCILLOR M HOOD (CHAIR)

Councillors: J Adams, V Anderson, R Beadle, M Brain, C Buckley, D Burnett, L Caffrey, M Charlton, B Clelland, P Craig, S Craig, C Davison, W Dick, S Dickie, P Diston, K Dodds, C Donovan, A Douglas, D Duggan, M Foy, P Foy, S Gallagher, M Gannon, A Geddes, F Geddes, J Gibson, B Goldsworthy, M Goldsworthy, T Graham, L Green, S Green, M Hall, H Haran, H Kelly, J Kielty, L Kirton, J Lee, P Maughan, J McClurey, K McClurey, J McElroy, E McMaster, P McNally, M McNestry, R Mullen, B Oliphant, C Ord, M Ord, R Oxberry, I Patterson, J Reay, S Ronchetti, J Simpson, J Turnbull, J Wallace, R Waugh, A Wheeler and K Wood

APOLOGIES: Councillors: D Bradford, J Eagle, K Ferdinand, G Haley, S Hawkins,

K McCartney and N Weatherley

CL1 ROGER KELLY AND TERRY MIDDLETON

The Mayor referred to the recent deaths of Roger Kelly and Terry Middleton. Roger joined the Council in 1987 and was appointed as Chief Executive in 2004. He stepped down from this role in 2012.

Terry was a councillor for the Rowlands Gill and High Spen ward from 1975 to 1982.

Members stood in silence as a mark of respect and to remember Roger and Terry.

CL2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

As required by Section 3 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council proceeded to the election of the Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor M Foy, seconded by Councillor M Brain, moved that Councillor M Hood be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor J Wallace, seconded by Councillor M Ord, moved that Councillor J McClurey be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the ensuing municipal year.

After a vote was taken:

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor M Hood be elected Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead for the

ensuing municipal year until acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor M Hood accepted the office of Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed his thanks for the high honour accorded to him.

CL3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor as required by Section 5 of the Local Government Act 1972.

On the motion of Councillor B Clelland, seconded by Councillor M Hall:

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That Councillor D Burnett be elected Deputy
Mayor of the Metropolitan Borough of Gateshead
for the ensuing municipal year until acceptance of
office by her successor.

Councillor D Burnett accepted the office of Deputy Mayor by making and subscribing the declaration required by law and expressed her thanks for the high honour accorded to her.

CL4 VOTE OF THANKS

Ward

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, seconded by Councillor C Donovan:

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the Council conveys its appreciation to Councillor Jill Green, Councillor Rachel Mullen and Ms Joanne Wilson, for their performance of the many duties expected of them as Mayor, Deputy Mayor and Deputy Mayoress respectively.

CL5 ELECTION OF COUNCILLORS

The Chief Executive asked the Council to note that the following Councillors were elected on 2 May 2019 to represent the wards indicated for a term of four years.

Flactad

waiu		Liected	
No 1	Crawcrook and Greenside	Helen Haran	Labour
No 2	Ryton, Crookhill and Stella	Alex Geddes	Labour
No 3	Chopwell and	Michael McNestry	Labour
	Rowlands Gill		
No 4	Winlaton and High Spen	Maria Hall	Labour
No 5	Blaydon	Malcolm Brain	Labour
No 6	Whickham North	Christopher Ord	Liberal Democrat
No 7	Whickham South and	Jonathan Wallace	Liberal Democrat
	Sunniside		

No 8	Dunston Hill and Whickham East	Vicky Anderson	Liberal Democrat
No 9	Dunston and Teams	Gary Haley	Labour
No 10	Lobley Hill and Bensham	Eileen McMaster	Labour
No 11	Saltwell	Robert Waugh	Labour
No 12	Low Fell	Ron Beadle	Liberal Democrat
			Focus Team
No 13	Chowdene	Keith Wood	Labour
No 14	Bridges	Bob Goldsworthy	Labour
No 15	Deckham	Bernadette Oliphant	t Labour
No 16	High Fell	Jennifer Reay	Labour
No 17	Felling	Paul McNally	Labour
No 18	Windy Nook and Whitehills	Jim Turnbull	Labour
No 19	Pelaw and Heworth	Paul Diston	Liberal Democrat
	Wardley and Leam Lane Lamesley Birtley	Stuart Green Sheila Gallagher Neil Weatherley	Labour Labour Labour

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the information be noted.

CL6 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER AND CABINET

The Leader announced, in accordance with the Executive Arrangements, that he had appointed his Cabinet members, including the Deputy Leader, Councillor Catherine Donovan.

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That the information be noted.

CL7 ALLOCATION OF SEATS

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED - That in accordance with Sections 15 and 16 of

the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the allocation of seats on those bodies to which the Act applies, to the various political groups represented on the Council, as set out in the attached schedule (Appendix 1b(i)) be

approved.

CL8 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES OF THE COUNCIL AND OTHER BODIES EXERCISING NON EXECUTIVE FUNCTIONS

(i) Labour Group Nominations

Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded, moved that the members listed at Appendix 1b(ii) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development, Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards and Accounts Committees, Pensions and Pay

Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; the Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Northumbria Police and Crime Panel; Northumberland, Tyne and Wear and North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee; the Honours Advisory Group and outside bodies dealing with functions that are not wholly an executive responsibility for the municipal year 2019/20.

- COUNCIL RESOLVED (i) That the nominations of the Labour Group listed at Appendix 1b(ii) to these minutes be agreed.
 - (ii) That the Chief Executive be authorised following consultation with the Leader of the Council, to agree any further necessary changes to the annual list of appointments.

(ii) Liberal Democrat Nominations

On the motion of Councillor J Wallace, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED -

That the members listed at Appendix b(iii) to these minutes be appointed to the Planning and Development, Licensing, Regulatory, Appeals, Rights of Way, Personnel Appeals, Special Appointments, Contracts, Audit and Standards and Accounts Committees; Pensions and Pay Discretions Sub-Committee; the Health and Wellbeing Board; Overview and Scrutiny Committees; the Honours Advisory Group, Northumbria Police and Crime Panel and Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, North Durham STP Joint Health Scrutiny Committee and outside bodies dealing with functions that are not wholly an executive responsibility for the municipal year 2019/20.

CL9 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

On the motion of Councillor M Gannon, duly seconded:

COUNCIL RESOLVED -	That the chairs and vice-chairs of the bodies listed in Annex A to Part 3 of the Constitution and of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees for the municipal year 2019/20 as listed at Appendix 1b(iv) to these minutes be
	as listed at Appendix 1b(iv) to these minutes be approved.

Mayor	 	